Feature and Follow Friday #2!

You know what day it is! Check out and follow Parajunkee and Alison Can Read for deets. Join up, check out the other blogs on the list. Be cool, make friends.

This week’s features are: The Attic and The Reading Realm. Check them out, too!

Q: Yesterday was the US’ Independence Day. Share your favorite book with a war in it, or an overthrow of the government.

I’m going with:

Image

I read this for the first time when I was 19 or 20. No idea it was a classic. In fact, I just found out it was published in December of ’84. hey, man, so was I!

The book is a little bit like Starship Troopers. It’s in the future, the war is against giant ant-like aliens. It’s called the Antwar. Awesome action, but mostly it focuses on the psychological effects of war. Felix separates parts of himself, what he calls “the Engine” makes him into an unstoppable killing machine, a tool of war. But the armor records his memories and his thoughts and Jack (who’s a criminal, and somewhat tricked) puts on the armor to uncover the saved data.

Gritty, depressing, powerful.

Alright. So, have a look around, enjoy yourselves. You can follow me on twitter, bloglovin’ or here on wordpress!

9 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday #2!

  1. Sounds like a great choice! I’ll have to check it out 🙂 Have a great weekend and I’m following you back via Bloglovin’

  2. I hadn’t heard of this book before. I laughed when I read that you a book published in 1984 is a classic – makes me feel old!! 🙂

    I’m a new follower via BlogLovin’.

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

  3. Interesting choice. I haven’t heard anything about this book. Probably because it’s old and it’s Sci-fi.
    Thanks for stopping by! I’m now following you via bloglovin 🙂
    Aliaa @ Mademoiselle Le Sphinx

    • It is. He only wrote 2 books. Armor and Vampire$ (the movie version is “John Carpenter’s Vampires”) which was published in 1990. So there’s not many ways for people to have heard of him, and in fact, I picked this book entirely at random because I thought the cover looked “tough and gritty” and I was coming off a binge of romance novels and I wanted something different. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I was published in 84 too, lol. I haven’t heard anything about this book, but it does scream “80s”. I’ll have to see if I can pick it up secondhand at a good price. I’m always looking for more sci-fi novels to read.

    Old follower via bloglovin

    Lizzy @ Lizzy’s Dark Fiction

  5. Heh, I guess I’m vintage, then – that that’s OK – vintage is still better than geriatric 😉

    I just added your blog to my Bloglovin’ so I can keep up with you. Thanks for commenting on my discussion post this week 🙂

  6. Sounds like a great read…. published 6 years after I was born 😉 Lots of great stuff came from the 80’s!! lol

    Thanx for visiting my FF!
    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

  7. I haven’t read this, but I did like Starship Troopers. I’ll have to check it out 🙂 Have a great week. New bloglovin follower.

    Meredith
    Meredith’s Musings

Leave a Reply

