Book of the Week?

Hmmm… now that I’m getting a respectable number of followers (Hi new friends!) I think I’m going to try to let you know what reviews are coming soon around here. And maybe you’ll want to pick up the books and read a long with me. We can discuss. It’s cool. Or you can warn me if I’m about to read something foolish.

Obviously more reading is going on in the middle of this, what with my $1 ebook buying compulsion and lots of free time. I’m trying to see what all the fuss is about with some popular and/or classic fare.

Okay so 
July 6-12: Moon Called by Patricia Briggs. It’s about werewolves and skinwalkers. Female protagonist. First in the Mercy Thompson series. Urban fantasy fun times.

July 13-19: Wool by Hugh Howey. I already reviewed the first chapter/story and got my hands on the omnibus. And I can’t wait to read it (but I actually will, because I’m still reading Game of Thrones)!

July 20-26: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. Synopsis: In Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury’s classic, frightening vision of the future, firemen don’t put out fires–they start them in order to burn books. Bradbury’s vividly painted society holds up the appearance of happiness as the highest goal–a place where trivial information is good, and knowledge and ideas are bad. Fire Captain Beatty explains it this way, “Give the people contests they win by remembering the words to more popular songs…. Don’t give them slippery stuff like philosophy or sociology to tie things up with. That way lies melancholy.” I was probably supposed to read this book and never did. It got a 1 star review on amazon who said, “Horrible, unrealistic concept. A book for hipsters to read so they can feel important. I have one word for you Bradbury: Kindles.” Ummm.. it was published in 1953…

Have you read or are you reading any of these goodies? 

Reviews will be posted on the Friday

10 thoughts on “Book of the Week?

  1. I haven’t read any of these but I’ve heard nothing but good things about them. Can’t wait to read your reviews.

    • Wool is being made into a movie, rumor has it. Fahrenheit 451 was on my students’ reading list for going into 7th grade, so I decided to check it out. It’s one of those “staples of the sci-fi genre.” Of course, I’m never going to finish Game of Thrones because I keep putzing around the bloggerverse…. D: so many words.

  2. I tried reading Moon Called, but I’m not much for shapeshifters unless it’s like incredibly well done, and well this one didn’t do it for me. I didn’t even finish the book :\ Everyone who doesn’t have a problem with shifters loves the books though xD

    • It happens. I’m like that, too, world building is an integral part. But I am a sucker for werewolves and shifters. Not as much as zombies, though. A lot of people like Mercy Thompson, but then, I had the Hollows/Rachel Morgan series recommended to me about 100 times and I couldn’t stand it. DNF

  3. I’m going to pick up Moon Called some time this week. I haven’t read much urban fantasy except for The Dresden Files. I love Dresden so much I figure I might as well explore some other books in that genre.

    • I’m a couple chapters in so far. I like “Urban Fantasy” because it’s like me and my friends, but with magic and werewolves. What’s not to like? 🙂

  4. Love Fahrenheit 451. Well, now that I’m an adult. I had to read it in high school and, like all books that were forced on me, I didn’t pay much attention to it. But after graduating college I re-read a bunch of the classics and this one stuck with me. When you’re reading, think about how things were back when Bradbury originally read it and compare it to how life is nowadays. It’s kind of scary.

  5. I’ve read the entire Mercy Thompson series. Love it! I’ve read Fahrenheit 451 and loved it. I read it around the same time that iI read Brave New World and 1984, and Fahrenheit was the least depressing/more optimistic of the three ! I actually want to re-read it since it has been awhile.

  6. Pingback: timewantsaskeleton | Book Review #19- Moon Called by Patricia Briggs

Leave a Reply

