Battle of the Atom- Chapter 3

(Or Brian Wood’s X-Men #5)

This is the only X-Men series I was reading pre-Battle of the Atom and I had high expectations for this one. The 3 issue starter story arc was amazing, then the last issue was sort of mellowed out, hinting at rifts between the girls but showing them working through their differences and Jubilee shopping with Wolverine. 

Image

Where we left off in Battle of the Atom: 3 Sentence recap: Jean and Scott (from the past) are on the run. Beast, Kitty, Xavier’s grandson, Iceman, Deadpool and… Jean are back from the future to help set things right. Wolverine does not approve. 

Jean, from the future says that she can’t be without the Xorn mask for more than a few minutes. 

Image

Beasts joke about how many jets they made (and how smart they are). Storm tells present day Kitty, Young Bobby and Hank to stay behind. Kitty is annoyed, deservedly so, she’s been kicking ass lately against Arkea in this series and showed her stuff against Animax and asserted herself, trading quips with Cyclops, but she is frequently stuck “babysitting.”

Speaking of babysitting, Jubilee is present, hanging with Shogo and I want her to do vampire stuff!!

Young Jean & Scott are stealing someones laundry (and Scott accidently gets an eye full), they stash their superhero get ups and take a motorcycle. 

With all the psychics and telekinetics, Wolverine sniffs out the young fugitives. 

Kitty and Rachel have girl talk over Chinese food (superheros: they’re just like us!), neither want to send Rachel and Scott back to the past, they know that means their memories will get wiped (and Jean will become the Phoenix and yada yada). Rachel, coming from the future herself, has a different perspective on wrecking the timeline. SHe thinks that they probably should go back, but it should be their call. 

Jean and Scott on the PCH are discussing what they should do. Jean suggests reaching out to the Avengers, Scott says that they are putting reality in danger. (But remember, Jean in present day is DEAD, she doesn’t know it was her under the Xorn mask and NOT going back is her only chance to live and escape her fate, and seriously, Beast, how did you not see that coming.) 

Some of the X-kids notice that Kitty and Rachel are gone and comment that they probably died of boredom. Jubes passes them Shogo. One of the bys, his jaw dropped says “I don’t know how to watch a baby!” And Jubilee quips, “Homo superior, dude. Figure it out. Adapt. I did.” I thought this is a great line since women are frequently presented as having some innate baby caregiving knowledge. We don’t. It’s trial and error and advice from people and figuring things out and common sense. Given the need: you will figure it out. 

Scott and Jean heart to heart about dying twice, the fact that present day cyclops is going insane when Storm and well, everybody, show up. They try to flee, Deadpool (from the future) shoots out their tires and Beast (prime) tackles the lovebirds. The pair are fighting to get away to no avail… until Kitty and Rachel show up. The rift between Ororo and Rachel grows as they jump in to intervene, but it is Kitty who confronts Ororo. 

Arguing between the MANY MANY X-Men ensues (my favorite is Kitty telling off Wolverine, who pulls this “Me… what?”) And then under the confusion… Scott and Jean have escaped (with help from Rachel) and fled to Utopia to get help from present day Cyclops and company).

Image

What I didn’t like: when Jubilee passed off Shogo I thought for sure she was fixing to do some vampire stuff! I want it! I need to know what’s up with the Xorn mask on Jean from the future. 

I LOVED Kitty asserting herself. She’s been stepping up a lot lately and Storm “ordering” her to stay behind was crummy. This is sure to ramp up the conflict between Storm and Rachel, rightly so, but they didn’t give Rachel a chance to be okay with this. HOW WAS SHE SUPPOSED TO BE OKAY WITH IT? AND HOW WAS JEAN SUPPOSED TO BE OKAY WITH IT? Beast: for a genius, you’re a real dumb dumb.

3 thoughts on “Battle of the Atom- Chapter 3

  1. I didn’t like this chapter (which is why it’s taken me so long to post my review. But I’ll have be posting my ch. 3 + 4 review together later today when I have my lunch break).

    You bring up a good point about Kitty standing up for herself. I’m still looking at the situation from the perspective of, “The whole world is at stake! How is this even a discussion!!?”

    And, yes, like many geniuses, Beast can at times be a moron 🙂

    • Yeah, I was annoyed that nothing got resolved and it was Jean and Scott still on the run the whole time and more conflicts between my girls. Jubes needs to do something. Anything, really. I’m waiting for it.
      I can understand Rachel arguing about it, since that’s sort of her mom, hahaha How is Jean under the Xorn mask?

      I didn’t pick up chapter 4 yet, I’m grabbing it tomorrow before work.

      • I won’t spoil anything about chapter 4 then (oh, but wait to read my blog post since I’ll be tackling both chapters in one post).

        I remember during a Q&A at the end of an issue of X-men they said Jubilee would get some attention. We’ll see…

        The Xorn mask is a nice– although morbid– touch.

        I’m just all around unsatisfied. The story is driven by incompetence. Beast pulled X-men from the past to the present (stupid in itself), infighting allowed those Jean and Scott to escape. Also, we’ve gotten no hints as to who the big bad is. Normally, I like character development, but in comics, character development often leads to changes that are reversed in a subsequent story arc. Sigh, at least the pictures are pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

