Tomb Raider #1

I always like origin stories. There’s always that point where the character needs to choose what they’re going to do with themselves. The same story could make you the villain, could make you vengeful distrustful, hard and cold; it could make you catatonic; or, it could make you something bigger, something better. 

This picks up where the videogame reboot did. When Lara Croft, driven in pursuit of adventure, for academic reasons and to solve a mystery, things go bad. Real bad. They try to find the island of Yamatai. But the ship sinks, people die. For 21 year old Lara Croft, that’s too much. When she’s called by another of the trip’s survivors, Jonah, he starts ranting that they have to break the circle and the stole gold before a tidal wave overtakes the desert and leaves her stranded. After all they went through, they haven’t really escaped.

I don’t really know exactly what I am doing with this series, I haven’t played Tomb Raider since Tomb Raider: Legend for GameCube.

Image

Also, all the promos I’ve seen for the new game reminds me of Katniss Everdeen. This comic book reminds me of Katniss Everdeen. Which is not a bad thing, per se. Also, I know I’m wrong and people are actually going to show up and tell me that I’m an asshat for comparing Tomb Raider with the Hunger Games, but I don’t even care. Bring it.

This picks up where the new game left off, so your enjoyment will increase with your appreciation of that game. I’ll give whatever Gail Simone is doing a fair shot, when I saw this issue was titled Survivor’s Guilt! I instantly thought of Annisia from Red Sonja, and how survivor’s guilt made her the bad guy. Who we become under duress isn’t a calculated choice, if this is to fill the gap in between the new reboot and a possible sequel, I wanna see how LC grows up.

 

5 thoughts on “Tomb Raider #1

  1. You should play the reboot. While not perfect, it’s very good. Great storytelling, fantastic graphics in all versions, solid gameplay and while there’s an odd separation in character development between cutscenes and gameplay, it’s easy to tell what they were going for. And I’m pretty sure you’re not the only one to compare it to Katniss from Hunger Games.

    • I only have Wii U wahhhhh

      • Are you from either Britain or Europe? I’m guessing because of your blog name. If so, then I feel sorry for your higher game prices. I went to the one game store in Italy while on vacation, and the prices there were insane (even for used titles).

        If that’s the case, at least you picked the system that actually has unique gameplay … and Donkey Kong.

        Tomb Raider 2013 is also on the PC though, and the requirements aren’t that harsh. It’s also Mac compatible. The PC also has very good hair physics.

      • It’s actually Brit because I’m Brittany, but you’re not the first to make that guess. Tropical Freeze is so good. Those boss battles are tough!

      • I know right? It takes everything that was good about Donkey Kong Country Returns, improves on it, and brings in more gameplay variety. That and its nice to finally play as Dixie again.

Leave a Reply

