Feature and Follow Friday #7

The Rules: Want to participate? Follow hosts Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. Follow this week’s features are Girl in the Woods Reviews and Wonderland’s Reader! There’s a linky with everyone participating. Link your post. Look around, say hi, make friends! follow back people who show you some love. And if you like meee you can follow on bloglovin’, twitter or here on wordpress! 

The week’s activity: Create a Reading list for an imaginary English Lit class.

The only mandatory readings:

ImageImage

 

and then any choice of dystopian novels (like these)

Image

 

Image

 

ImageImageImage

 

The real focus wouldn’t be on what was actually read, but rather discussing how common dystopian elements a presented through out literature. From government control, population control, media control, war, how “outsiders” are regarded, etc. 

If that sounds pretentious, I must explain: I hate being forced to read something. I hated everything I read in high school with the exception of Brave New World, which is crazy. I love reading! But what you read is not as important as being able to discuss, analyze and appreciate what ever you ARE reading. Critical thinking is far more important (says the girl who’s a sucker for any story were a saucy young girl meet a werewolf) than being told that something is a “classic” and if you don’t understand it, too bad. Read what you want and then think about it. 

15 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday #7

  1. You’re class sounds terrific. I’ll sign up 🙂 I agree that being forced to read a specific title will turn off readers who don’t enjoy that genre or could extenguish the spark of a non-reader who was on the fence. I always enjoyed English classes more when I was able to choose what books I was able to read…even if it was from several on the list, one of them usually appealed to me. Thanks for stopping by this week!

  2. Oh, I also picked the Giver. You have good taste :p My FF

  3. Interesting choices. I haven’t seen some of these anywhere yet! New Follower! Check out MY F&F

  4. This sounds like my kind of class.
    Thanks for stopping by and for following on Twitter. I’m following back.

  5. Is that pill a new cover of Brave New World? If so, it’s sweet!

  6. So another book blogger wrote about interesting book discussions she had in college, and I left a comment for her & then thought you’d probably be interested in the book too (maybe more so than her. I don’t know her!). I’m just gonna copy & paste my comment, complete with link:

    Some of the most interesting book discussions I’ve ever had (in college) came from reading “Written On the Body” by Jeanette Winterson.

    It’s a beautiful, lyrical book about love. The catch is that you don’t know whether the narrator is a man or a woman – and s/he never gives it away! There were students who were CONVINCED it was a female narrator, and others who were CERTAIN it was a male speaker. And we battled! Going through, citing specific examples that proved our convictions. But for every example that pointed one way, there was another that pointed the other. Simply fantastic.

    Here’s a link to the book:
    http://www.amazon.com/Written-Body-Jeanette-Winterson/dp/0679744479

  7. I’m with you on the critical thinking and dystopian texts are great for promoting discussion. I went for books that I would want to read with mine – Backchatting Books F&F
    Old Bloglovin’ follower
    Vilia @ Backchatting Books

  8. Sounds good to me. I love to read but hated reading classics in school. I think giving choices is good and dystopians will definetly generate discussion. In this day and age how could dystopians NOT be on the list? 🙂

Leave a Reply

