Book Review #14- Wool (part 1) by Hugh Howey

This is part one of the book a friend was reading while I was reading Deviants. And we said: “And then the government builds a dome and then tells everyone that they can’t go out or they’ll die and they send anyone outside who breaks any of the rules that they set. There’s all kinds of rules about rations and population control. But then someone finds out it’s a lie.” It happens in both stories. 

Wool part 1 is free right now. And I was very surprised at the way this portion of the story ended. (It’s 5 parts, and then there’s a part 6 which I believe is phase 2 of the series set in the same world and that portion is still coming out). It’s 49 pages long (someone else on amazon said 65 pages, but on the kindle app on my laptop it said 49). Quick read. It’s sad. Well written big brother conspiracy stuff. 

A sheriff asks to be sent outside 3 years after his wife does. She’d been uncovering the truth about uprisings that used to happen once a generation in the silo but aren’t happening anymore. The evidence leads her to believe that the government deleted information about the past to keep a rather massive secret. 

I’d say check it out. I’m really interested in seeing where the series leads.

Also, I’m reviewing episode 2 of Under the Dome tonight so that means… that just today I will have reviewed three things in which the government traps its citizenry under a dome. 

That’s weird.

Rating- 4 Security Cameras!

3 thoughts on “Book Review #14- Wool (part 1) by Hugh Howey

  1. Apparently, there’s going to be a movie and Scott Ridley is the director. I’ve heard great things about Wool but never really knew what it was about. Thanks for posting this.

    • I just looked up the movie! That’s awesome. I just found this: http://thisiswool.co.uk/ and I’m definitely going to buy the omnibus soon (there’s a sticker on it that says it’s “the next Hunger Games” …I’m not sure what they think that means, but it was cool regardless) the first part was great, a real throw back to golden age of sci-fi

  2. Pingback: timewantsaskeleton | Book of the Week?

Leave a Reply

