Book Review #7- Catching Fire (Book 2 of Hunger Games)

First this: 

And: There’s a real Maslow’s hierarchy of needs thing happening here. I like that the boys are pursuing her and Katniss is all, “I have real problems, I’m trying to save my family or start a revolution. Leave me alone. Ugh.” That’s not a direct quote, but it was in that vicinity.

And: “As far as I can tell, they never get up before noon unless there’s some sort of national emergency, like my leg hair.”

And: ehhh, a little more girl power was had? maybe? I don’t know a strong female protagonist doesn’t make up for the rest of the lot where every other female is either useless or batshit crazy (or barely involved with the story). Like Johanna, she could have been a good character, but she had to be all “I don’t care about Jabberjays, I don’t love anyone.” Yeah yeah, Katniss is  the only well rounded female character.

And: Dammit, Haymitch! That was not the plan!

Alright 4 squirrel-heads. I mean Stars, whatever.

One thought on “Book Review #7- Catching Fire (Book 2 of Hunger Games)

  1. Ha. I like “squirrel heads.” The second book was my favorite of the trilogy. I thought the concept behind the arena was pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

